Reply
Occasional Contributor
mr_mahoney
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

[ Edited ]

Host/Server:  Win7 pro 32 bit | vSpace downgraded to 6.2.6.1 | Flash down graded to 11.2 | Realtek HD audio

- each station has unique local login

- Novell netware client (set to launch after Windows local login)

- Realtek driver version: 6.0.1.6316 Driver date: 2/24/2011

 

Upon fresh bootup (with no headphones plugged in)

- start video on host machine

 

Audio comes out of one of the client terminals- not the host.

 

[IF] headphones are kept plugged in the host machine upon bootup

- audio comes out of proper terminals

 

Tech support has bug report- case #  00124772.

Sound issues have occured on most all of our deployments this school year.

Many stations effected.  (but some work)

Occasional Contributor
mr_mahoney
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Re: Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

Troubleshooting steps:

 

I went to troubled machine and downgraded vspace and flash. - issue remains

 

I put that x350 card in newly imaged machine. - issue remains

 

I put new x350 card in newly imaged machine. - issue remains

 

I will try previous cards in fresh install of win7 next (incase my image is corupt)

Occasional Contributor
mr_mahoney
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Re: Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

This thread reports sound dropping off.

http://community.ncomputing.com/t5/X550-X350/Sound-Issues/m-p/2848#U2848

 

Anyone confirmed the issue may be with Realtek HD drivers ?

Occasional Contributor
mr_mahoney
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Re: Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

The audio settings will show sound coming out of "speakers"  (win7 pro 32bit)

The image below shows headphone in host and head set in terminal1)

As long as headphone is plugged in host on bootup, the audio distributes fine.

If no headphone is plugged on bootup, and video is played on host, the audio will come out terminal but not host.

sound.jpg

 

Question:  How does nComputing direct sound in a terminal environment?  How does it keep the sound separate?

There seems to be a bug with this process.

Occasional Contributor
mr_mahoney
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Re: Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

I was researching why Realtek auto assigns devices and came across the following article to keep Realtek from making changes.  So far the changes have had good reults.

http://www.spyontech.com/how-to/here%E2%80%99s-a-quick-way-to-solve-realtek-hd-audio-plugged-and-unp...

 

I also had to make sure to set the default audio device on the host:  (sets front jacks as default)

default setting.jpg

Occasional Contributor
mr_mahoney
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Re: Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

I have configured almost 10 stations now with the Realtek Settings changes and it has fixed the audio issues.

 

Here is a screen cast of the settings changes:

http://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cl6OD5SJA

 

Here is the article where I got the idea:

http://www.spyontech.com/how-to/here%E2%80%99s-a-quick-way-to-solve-realtek-hd-audio-plugged-and-unp...

 

After the making the changes, the audio comes out of the proper terminal.  I am waiting to hear from Tech Support as to why this solution works.   Hopefully they will post their findings here.

NComputing Employee
AlexF
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎01-17-2012

Re: Sound issues - comes out of wrong terminal

Great Job Mr Mahoney!

 

This looks like it will be very usefull for many people.  Thank you for posting this solution in the community as I am sure it will be a valuable solution for others!

 

Keep up the great work and thanks for the great input!